Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Happy New Year everyone!
I'm a beginner and I'm hoping you can give me some advice regarding downshifting, because I hear a lot of conflicting ideas. My owner's manual says to downshift from 5th to 4th at 15mph, 4th to 3rd at 12 mph, and 3rd to 2nd at 9mph. However, this doesn't give me a large enough time frame to pull in the clutch, downshift, let the clutch out smoothly, and repeat the process for each gear.

What is your downshifting technique when coming to a stop sign or at a red light? What about a quick unexpected stop? I'm looking for the most safe technique which won't damage my engine or wear out my transmission/clutch prematurely.

Do you wait until you are stopped in say 3rd gear, then pull in the clutch and downshift to first?

Do you apply the brakes as you approach the stop, then hold in the clutch as you break and shift down to first without letting go of the clutch?

What exactly wears out the clutch? (I hear it's an expensive replacement) Is it worse to hold it in while coasting to a stop or to engage and disengage multiple times as you downshift?

Thank you all so much for your advice, I really appreciate it.

·
Registered
612 Posts
Hey Indirt, and welcome to the site!

Firstly, I think that it is more important to "listen to the bike". downshifting should not be done (IMO) by the numbrs on the speedo but rather by the "feel" of the bike and "sound" of the engine - it just comes with more riding and getting to know your bike.

·
Drink Plenty of Water
784 Posts
This is by no means expert advise or anything. I am a new rider as well. I just make sure to be downshifted all the way before stopping. Its hard after you stop to downshift. If I know I'm going to stop I pull in the clutch and coast. I will go to 4th,,coast a little 3rd, coast a little, 2nd, then 1st and stop.

·
Registered
8 Posts