Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
I miss you, Deron
19,783 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm going to betray my ignorance here. :)

Hubby took my 1500 Classic out for a ride yesterday. He really liked it, but mentioned that he thought it was a bit underpowered (not a lot of torque) at about 40-50 mph. (Of course, he has an FJR, so he's used to a different kind of ride.) Anyway, I was telling him that I could do some mods to improve the performance, and one of the things I mentioned was a hypercharger. Now he's asking me how simply changing the air cleaner can improve performance, and I don't know what to tell him. Exactly how does a hypercharger work and what other mods do you need to make in concert with it?

Thanks for letting a woman ask a dumb question. :oops:

Julie

·
Official BTK Forum Pot Stirrer
37,387 Posts
the only dumb question is the one that isn't asked!

i'd answer your question but since i am not a mechanical kind of guy or a joe wrench, i'll let the real technical folks answer for you BUT, cruisers are not sport bikes or touring bikes and are not made to burn the pavement up...no torque at 45 or 50???what gear was he in. I can pin my cheeks back (as much as a cruiser will) in that mph range in 2nd or 3rd gear if I really wanted to.

as you know cruisisng is a slower paced ride and the need for hyperspeed at the twist of the throttle isn't warranted.

·
I miss you, Deron
19,783 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah, I agree. :) He knows that, too, and he even said that he was probably comparing my bike too much to his, which is a different kind of animal.

But quite a few people here have put hyperchargers on their cruisers, and I'd really like to understand why and what the benefits are. If I can beef up my bike a bit, it would be good, since I ride with him all the time. :D