Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all, need to replace both tyres on my 900 classic having got 9000 miles out of them no problems at all really. as i have only been on 2 wheels for 2 years and the bike came with the dunlop D404's fitted i have no knowledge on another make of tyre. on the forum the m880's seem a popular tyre i understand that i shoul get similiar mileage with better road holding although iam not one to throw the bike about"only steady" i do have a concern in that the 880's are a tubeless tyre is it ok to run them with a tube in? finally would a 200x70-15 fitt straight in with no prolems or modification. thanks in advance for your replies Phil

·
IBA#34418
6,332 Posts
Well I am biased towards metzler of those 2 choices. I got 8500 out of my stock dunlop and it was toast. Got 14K out of both rear metzlers and they were toast. Had 24K on the front and could have went another 2K or so if I had chosen to.

I haven't tried them yet but the Pirelli MT66 are getting good reviews and are less expensive than the metzlers.

Most tires today are labeled tubeless. That doesn't mean you can't put a tube in them. Since I ride a 900 too I have tubes in these as well.

·
Registered
716 Posts
I'm surprised that your front tire should need replacing already. I've got 14000 miles on mine and it still has some life left in it. I have already bought a replacement though, a Metzler. The back was replaced with a Metzler at about 8500 miles. I might go dark side next time the back wears out though.

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I'm surprised that your front tire should need replacing already. I've got 14000 miles on mine and it still has some life left in it. I have already bought a replacement though, a Metzler. The back was replaced with a Metzler at about 8500 miles. I might go dark side next time the back wears out though.
sorry but what do you mean by dark side ?

·
Registered