Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I Just Finished Wiring My Bike And Every Thing Works All The Lights ,turns Over , No Smoke And No Sparks But The Ignition Box Got Very Hot To Touch So I Did What You Should Do Disconect And Have A "beer". I'm Not Sure Where To Start Looking. Does Anybody Know How To Test The Ignition Box It Is 15 Yrs Old Or Older. The Bike Has Been Apart That Long. The Bike Is A 1976 Kz900 Ltd B1 Thanks Basket76

·
The Cruising Gunsmith
1,459 Posts
Hard to say what the problem is.

I've been an electrical engineer for 30 years and have designed some parts of auto electrical systems (and also the CDI on my bike).

If you can post a shematic of the ignition module I could have a guess at what's cooking.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Dyna Ignition 000

I Have Red,black,and White Hook To The Pick-up Green To Left Coil Cyl 2-3 , Black To Right Coil Cyld 1-4, Red To Power Side Of Coil (12 Volt Power Source) Black Wire To Ground Side Of Battery. The Coils Are New Accell Super Coils Any Help Would Be Appreciated!!!thanks Basket76

·
The Cruising Gunsmith
1,459 Posts
I don't know what kind of an ignition it is. If it is a CD ignition, they all use the same principle: inside there is a two transistor free running oscillator connected to a small transformer to jack up the 12V to about 400V. That is used to charge a capacitor and an SCR fires the cap across the coil primary.

The two transistors that do the 12V conversion are usually heatsinked to the metal box and if it is hot, that could mean just about anything inside is blown.

The most common failure mode of CDI ignitions is when they use a coil with too low of an impedance, the peak current from the capacitor is too high and the cap eventually shorts out.

Try to read the manufacturer's model number off the ignition module and see if the manufacturer has a schematic for it.

·
The Cruising Gunsmith
1,459 Posts