Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, if anyone could help me with this problem I would be most greatful. i have a 84' zx900 kawasaki ninja. At first, I thought the problem was an overheating problem which apparently is notorius with those models. but after much deliberation it turns out my relays for my main and starter connection are heating up and eventually stop functioning. There are 3 relays total; lights, horn and main. I bought a new relay and put that at main but it had no effect. When I'm riding, even if the temp of my bike is ok, after about 45 mins the bike will stumble and eventually just shut off completly. I then have to take the relays out and cool them off in my hand, once they are cool, the bike will start and run for another 15-20 mins and then shut down again.. I'm no expert, but I'm thinking there is a problem with the electrical system, maybe a bad ground or such. Why would these relays heat up to the point where they stop working?

cliff notes. electrical relays stop working because they overheat. wtf?

any insight would be appreciated. thanks!

dingle

·
AZ's Official Mechanic
5,201 Posts
theres a hole in your theory. :wink: what makes you think its just the relays ? there are lots of things that could be getting hot and shutting down the bike. you need to check for spark when this happens. if your loosing spark then you have to start eliminating parts that control ignition. :wink:

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
QKENUF4U said:
theres a hole in your theory. :wink: what makes you think its just the relays ? there are lots of things that could be getting hot and shutting down the bike. you need to check for spark when this happens. if your loosing spark then you have to start eliminating parts that control ignition. :wink: