Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK I just joined after buying my 87 EX500 and have everything fixed but a fuel leak and am kind of stuck because I don't have any experience with carbs.

First I removed the fuel tank to drain it. I thought the fuel tap/petcock was the problem, possibly the o-ring but when I went to drain it I had no fuel leaking so I ruled it out.Upon closer inspection I noticed the left(shifter) side carb had fuel all over the bottom of the carb. I check the screws which secure the float bowl and they are tight. It is almost like the carb just constantly overflows.

Can anyone offer suggestions, like I said I have never worked on carbs before just normal maintenance and minor repair.....

·
Registered
20,973 Posts
Carb leaking?

Is it running okay when you are riding it? If it isn't I would suspect a float or a needle valve is the problem...if it is running ok than it is probably just a gasket. They are very thin esp on the carb bowls. look up Freakingout and send him the question...he knows about carbs...then again...almost the entire Texas group does, too. Leaking is not a good thing...but you know that...already. Sounds silly but I'd try tapping it...but not hard enough to break it...just enough to get it unstuck???

·
Registered
5 Posts
Carbs

One thing your going to have to do is disassemble the carb assembly and check the float in the left carb. The needle could be stuck and allowing gas to pour in. Also, there are O-ring gaskets that seal the covers to the assembly. They could be cracked or not placed properly.

Are you only seeing gas on the carbs and none leaking from the petcock or fuel line?

·
Registered
1 Posts
Me too!