Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
2001 Vulcan 800 \m/
1,661 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I’m having misgivings about changing my stock pipes to HK Kickers. I bought the pipes from a guy for $100 and they’ve been sitting in my garage for over a week while I shopped for new tools.

While the pipes sat I perused the web for info. I actually found one post, not on this site, that claimed my bike would “NEVER run right again” if I changed out the stock pipes. That got me a little worried to say the least.

Now I know that people change their pipes all the time. I’ve seen the cool looking pics on this site. But I started asking myself why I wanted to screw with my bike to begin with.
I’m not a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination, so I don’t know if I’m just being paranoid.
:frown:

·
Super Moderator
10,836 Posts
It's no big deal to change pipes, and it won't screw your bike up. Before you start the job make sure you have a pair of new exhaust gaskets. They're about $3/pr. at your local Kawi dealer. Then put the pipes on. You'll be glad you did!

And why not hedge your bets? Get two pairs of gaskets "just in case". You can always sell the 2nd set later....

·
Registered
283 Posts
It's not changing the pipes that will make the bike run bad.When you change the air box then you need to rejet and that can take some fine tuning.If you just want noise de-baffle those stock pipes, they soud great.

·
Registered
17,940 Posts