Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was wondering what I would have to do if I wanted to replace the stock dual exhausts on my 2004 500r with a "throatier" single exhaust. I don;t like the looks of the dual exhaust and I don't like the sound even more. I am new to the motorcycle world so please excuse me if this a dumb question. Thanks!!!

·
Registered
8,245 Posts
You can install a full system, jardine makes one, so does Vance & hines, Yoshi makes one I believe, muzzy too.

When you do a full exhaust I suggest doing K&N air pods. You can do a stage 3 rejetting then, and have yourself a much meaner sounding bike, and faster too.

I actually have a jardine header (D&D makes it I've been told) and a V&H SSR2 muffler for a buell, and that was very weird to make it all work, but it sounds super sweet and very very throaty. I set car alarms off for miles and still have a nice deep smooth sound.

·
Registered
182 Posts
Can you explain how you made this work? I've been thinking about changing the muffler and then jetting, but I'm new to bike mods and would like to see some pictures of your bike with explaination on how to do it. From the pictures in your sig you modded your bike's muffler to one muffler, is that better? Could it have been two mufflers? Please explain what would be the difference, if any that you know of. Does it look stupid that way or is it unpopular to do something like that? What could I expect to pay if I have bike shop do it? Thanks.

·
Registered
2,159 Posts
dead weight