Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I took the ERC yesterday with my 1982 KZ1100. Without hesitation I can say that it was the best ten hours that I have spent learning about my motorcycle, my self and my capabilities. I have been riding off and on since about 1963. I would guess that I have logged about 10,000 miles in that time, half of it in France. One of my classmates brought his Gold Wing on which he has logged 114,000 miles. I may have been the novice. There were three cruisers and seven Tupperware covered rockets. No one laid down their bike.

This was a one-day course with your own bike. We spent the first thirty minutes in the classroom getting our license, registration and insurance checked and signing waivers. The next thirty minutes were spent performing the T-CLOCS inspection. No one failed the T-CLOCS inspection, which is rare. This group schedules standbys in case there are no-shows, people that are late or their bike fails the inspection. The next eight hours were spent on the “Range” performing the various exercises.

We learned how to counterbalance our bikes by body weight shift in very tight low speed turns. We discovered and practiced what it really means to “look where you want to go.” How to successfully stop in a turn. Where do most motorcycle-only crashes occur? We learned and practiced avoidance maneuvers. We practiced the proper way to enter a curve and power your way through. We practiced over and over again stopping in an emergency situation. We also practiced approaching the instructor at about 20 MPH not knowing whether he was going to tell us to stop, swerve left or right until the last second. SEE = Search, evaluate, execute. During all of these exercises the instructors provided instant feedback both positive and negative. Unquestionably they knew their subject from start to finish and were masters at imparting their knowledge.