Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good afternoon...

I'm brand new at riding motorcycles (ok, I haven't actually done it yet), and I need some clear advice on parts.

My brother-in-law just gave me his 1984 ZX 750 that has been sitting in his garage for 8 years. I started cleaning it up this weekend and pretty quickly noticed that it has no carbs. I've called some retail stores, and they want my weekly paycheck for a bank of carbs. ($1000+).

There is a motocycle salvage yard in Houston that has some Mikuni carbs they'll sell me for about $150. But, I don't know if they'll fit, and there is a "no return" policy on the purchase.

So, what "model" or part number for the carbs etc. does an '84 Kawasaki ZX 750 use?

Thanks.

--Jonathan

·
Official BTK Forum Pot Stirrer
37,387 Posts
first off...welcome to the fourm. You can also post this question in the mechanics forum or the vintage bike forum. not that it is close to you but a source for parts if needed, in my area we have Bent Bikes, in Lynwood washington, you can find them with a google search. They deal in used or salvaged bike parts...good luck

·
Registered
629 Posts
The carbs you are looking for are Mikuni BS34 constant velocity units. Basically if you can find a post '83 KZ/Z750L or '83 ZX750A these carbs will fit your bike. Get the Clymmer manual to show you exactly what you will be looking for.

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
The 84 - its actually a Gpz750 came with Keihn CVK32's as stock. You will probably find more parts available for the Keihn vs the Mikuni. If you go with the CVK34's you may have to work a bit to get the carbueration just right, but it is a doable thing. You can find a used set for $40 - 125 in the 4 bank configuration that you need.

·
AZ's Official Mechanic
5,201 Posts
jhantke said:
I've called some retail stores, and they want my weekly paycheck for a bank of carbs. ($1000+).