Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all I hve a kx250 2002 and the plug foules every 5th hour of use maybe less) about 4-5 rides, The bike has been jetted by a proir owner. he said the mix required it 16 oz to 5 gals, Anyone know that ratio? Air cleaner is good. he did somthing with the reeds not to long ago. The bike foules when it goes to idle lets say I am on a downhill. it just falls off. bogs down then out. I swap out the plug and off i go again.

My riding style is more of trails than racing. but I do try to keep it up and kick in the power bands. I pull the clutch in and rev it on declines. OK?

any suggestions. much appreciated, mike

·
WFO Enthusiast
89 Posts
what kind of 2 stroke oil are you using? Thats a 40 to 1 mixture and thats not recommended with a lot of 2 stroke oils. However, when I was a kawasaki mechanic, we only used Golden Spectro oil and we always mixed it 50 to 1 and never had any problems. If you are running a 40 to 1 mixture and it fouls plugs, you must not be running it hard enough, you aren't using the right plug or you have a rich fuel mixture.

·
Registered
917 Posts
It's ok to pull in clutch and rev while goin downhill.

40:1 mixture is fine.

Your jetting is probably rich. You can look at new plug to get an idea. Let bike just idle, giving it no gas, and run for a bit (like warm up) then look at new plug. If black or oily down at base of porcelain, then too rich on pilot and/or air screw?

How many turns out is your air screw? This adds air to pilot jet circut and adjusts idle. This is easiest way to lean out pilot jetting without having to remove the carb. Two turns out is quite normal. Not really recommended to go more than 3 turns out cause the screw can vibrate out and probably the air circuit is fully open. If your bike does not idle, you added too much air (lean).

most people just change the pilot jet.