Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2004 Vulcan 800 with 115 miles on it. The front brakes squeel at times when stopping. Is this normal, a break in period. First bike, I am a newbie.

·
Registered
5,200 Posts
How bads it squeaking? Mine doe's it sometimesjust towards slowing down to stop . I don't hear it when I'm going fast an hit the brake but that doesn't mean it's not doing It. I'm going to take it apart this winter an check the pad's ,but I don't think thats the problem. I read about a fix but I'll have to do some looking for it because I don't remember where I saw it , but It's got something to do with puting something between the caliper an break pad I will keep you updated. Just for your information my wife's 500 does it also. Don't sweat it to much just go out an ride , mine's been doing it for the last 12,000 miles or so an it hasn't effected the braking in anyway. Maybe someone else on the forum will have a better idea of fix. Now that you reminded me of it I might take a look this weekend being it gonna rain an snow all weekend.

·
Registered
741 Posts
It may be nothing more than a glaze on the pads. You can remove the pads and take some 000 sandpaper & take just a few swipes across each pad to break the glaze.

·
Registered
5,200 Posts
Hot shoe that's what I was thinking also, but he said he only has 115 miles, an he would have to be riding the brake pretty hard to glaze that quick wouldn't he? anyone

·
I miss you, Deron
19,783 Posts
I just had new front brakes put on my Vulcan 800. I get a small whining sound when I apply the front brake, and my mechanic told me that was normal. The brakes are new and work great, so I'm not worried about the sound anymore. The front brake was making that sound *before* I had the brake work done, BTW.

·
Registered
7 Posts