Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok - i have trolled forums and all over the internet and i'm hoping someone can help me. i have a 1997 vulcan classic and i keep getting gas in my oil. almost all of what i have seen traces the problem back to the carburetor but it seems to be functioning correctly. i am by no means a mechanic but i can tear down and fix most things given time and instruction. here are some pieces of information:

the bike fouls spark plugs pretty quickly although the bike still runs ok (strange, i know). they seem to be carbon fouled (black). could my spark plugs not be firing hot enough?
i had the carb cleaned and the tank cleaned.
hypercharger with air filter seems to be clean and functioning correctly.
the petcock seems to work as it should though i leave it on all the time.
i recently saw that the nut on the choke cable entering the carburetor is broken and i am wondering if that is the issue.
the bike runs well most of the time with some backfiring here and there although it is pretty hard to start in the cold.
there is no smoke of any color ever.

anyone have any ideas? i am at a loss...

·
Novice Tank Roller
15,810 Posts
does the petcock have a vacuum on it, or does it have an "off" setting? You're likely getting fuel overlfowing the carb float, going into the cylinder, and seeping down into the oil around the rings. Definitely don't try to start or run the bike until you've changed the oil and check the cylinders. Sometimes the cylinders are full of fuel, and when the piston tries to compress it, you bend things inside.

Start by disconnecting the fuel line from the petcock and see if fuel keeps seeping out. Next have the carb checked. If you are fouling plugs, it's either because of the fuel leaking in, or your carb is running rich.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks so much for the reply.
the petcock has three settings: on, off, reserve