Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I ride my 04 500 for usually around 5 hrs at a time. 1-2 times a month as I'm getting older(older). I am finding that gear/trannjy oil is shot after every session. Slow and fast riding more slow for this thing. When I warm up engine and then drain oil it is very milky. I would think mostly in part to the tranny and clutches. I run Castrol20W50 conventional. After last riding session I sunk her in a pond. No water at all in crank case thank God. I studied the oil in drain pan for 2 days. It gradually went back to normal color on top layer(in drain pan). But, when placed on angle it was almost like a silvery aluminum mix. Very fine clinging to pan. I filled her back up w/ 20W50 conv. and idled her for 5 mins and placed in 1st gear to help(I don't know) to remove any deposits. I just put in fresh(as was the last batch of conventional oil) to full synth. 20w50. I am however worried this will cause excessive wear/slippage of clutch plates which are seemingly being the culprit. I only idled her once going to full synthetic and no riding so I don't know if clutches will slip. Anyone have any good recommendations on what crank/tranny oil to use? When I see what looks like good oil in shops and mags it states 4 stroke oil. I just need good clutch lube I think. What about Lucas oil?

Thanks,
Eric

·
Registered
191 Posts
i run golden spectro 80w gear , i believe its a synth blend and its just for two stroke trannys. Ive never had anything else in my mx bikes. in the my 4 strokes i run 50/50 blend, usually golden spectro 10/40.
http://www.compacc.com/moreinfo.cfm?Product_ID=558&CFID=368052&CFTOKEN=24107220

hope that helps