Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm relatively new to the motorcycle world, I've ridden for about a year now, but this has been off and on, primarily on other people's bikes, but I've had a good amount of time to learn how to ride and become accustom to riding in general. I've recently found a 96 500LTD that I'm looking to buy and since this will be my first bike, I'm looking for a good starter that won't cost me an arm and a leg. My only fear is my height, I'm 6' 3" 195lbs, I know I can fit on it, and won't be doing any long rides anywhere, I'm getting this conserve gas instead of my truck plus I'm just trying to slowly get into bikes and hopefully learn all I can now and then move onto another bigger bike. My question is, what place aside from the dealer can I get OEM parts, or something like that, this bike is in good condition for its age, but it has dent in the tank from falling over in a windstorm, and the front brake lever is bent as well, I've found a replacemetn lever, but a gas tank is proving to be more work. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

P.S. I've yet to take the MSF course, but will very soon. :)

·
RIP Deron Harden :-(
32,545 Posts
first off, welcome to the forum. second, as i tell a lot of people, spend some time on Ebay. especially when it comes to OEM parts, Ebay can be great for that stuff. i think you will be happy with the LTD as a first bike and you will enjoy tinkering with it until you are ready for something more your size. enjoy the forum and keep us posted on your progress.
david

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3