Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In about a week, i am picking up a kawasaki kz 440 ltd 1981. There seems to be nothing wrong with this bike. Like my first KZ I know nothing about this bike. During my rebuild you were all an amazing help and I thank every one of you. For anyone that remembers I have a 1983 kz 750 spectre that I have been working on for a few months. ITS ALIVE! And it Screams. Even tho it does not seem that this bike needs any work. Any information you feel like sharing. Even just some good stories id love to hear.

Thanx again
Bmarc

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you M folks. I believe you helped alot when I was working on the spectre. It was greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
265 Posts
Be VERY careful with the vacuum diaphragms as they cost maybe $200 EACH!
Do not even THINK about removing the airbox to use pod filters.
You might want to increase the main jets to #70 as they are way too lean from the factory.
If it has the original headlight (or headDARK), replace it with a halogen one from www.candlepowerinc.com part #802212. This is the ONLY one that will fit the odd sized bucket on these bikes.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·