Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For all you welders out there. I’ve noticed that the welds on the swing arm of my 900 look like crap. I’m considering smoothing them out. Do you think Kawasaki left the welds like that to save money or is it a structural thing?

·
900 LT
1,135 Posts
For all you welders out there. I’ve noticed that the welds on the swing arm of my 900 look like crap. I’m considering smoothing them out. Do you think Kawasaki left the welds like that to save money or is it a structural thing?
I wouldn't consider doing this unless i removed the swing arm, ground the welds flush.

then take a cutoff wheel and grind along the center of the weld at least 1/4 in deep and refill with weld, then grind that flush.

i am not a structural engineer but i have done my share of welding.

·
2008 Nomad
37 Posts
No way don't grind them off unless you reweld them. The build up of weld is reinforcement. If I ground them off I would bevel the joint and reweld them with a TIG. I have ben a welder for over 30 years. Have someone do it that is skilled so it is done right.

·
nu2kawi
2,707 Posts
companies push their employees to hurry then they get bad quality work. usually a bad looking weld is a poor quality weld. I wouldn't touch it or it becomes your fault if it does fail. The welds were probably just left that way to push the bike through.

·
Registered
887 Posts
You may try to smooth them over with body filler and sand smooth, but I wouldn't go grinding the welds themselves.

·
Giant Biker
2,323 Posts
Ditto with the rest.........unless you know the base metal was properly grooved and that the weld is full penetration----don't mess with it.

·
Registered
217 Posts
Do not grind it off. You will weaken the joint. If it is a matter of looks, do like was said above, do body work on it: putty, and smooth it out and sand it it.

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #10