Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have installed the HC sideburners on my 08 Vulcan 900 Custom, they sound great but am worried about the flame in the backfire. I am new to working on bikes, any suggestions as to what to do. I have not changed anything else other than the pipes. Do I have to get a power commander for this?

·
Registered
460 Posts
Ehh..I don't know what are HC Sideburners, but I suppose you are talking about new pipes.
Important is (like Z-In-Jax said), to know if that happens during acceleration or deceleration.
And also if the backfiring only happens since the pipe-swap.
It could be the mixture of the carburator(s) that is out of balance after the installment of your new pipes.
In most of those cases, you need to change the mixture or do re-jetting the carburator.
Some brands need re-jetting, some not.
Re-jetting a bike will cost you at least about $1500,- and...eh..Joking...
Seriously..check first if you installed the pipes correctly.
Your pipes should be firmly attached to the engine outlets.
Even If they are slightly loose attached, it will backfire as well (disregarding any brand).
Actually what's a power commander?..

·
2x the bike for 1/2 the $
1,175 Posts
I have installed the HC sideburners on my 08 Vulcan 900 Custom..
Correction: HK Sideburners (Hard Krome)

I had a flame shoot out the first time I revved my 08 900 Custom after installing an HK exhaust. Never saw it happen again after that. However, you may be able to correct that issue if it happens consistantly by marbling the bike.

·
Registered
211 Posts
With just changing pipes you should not have to worry about re jetting or re setting anything. Check for an exhaust leak or a hose you might have knocked off while putting on the new pipes. Did it backfire before you put on the pipes?

·
Custom '07 1500 Classic
1,737 Posts
Ehh..I don't know what are HC Sideburners, but I suppose you are talking about new pipes.