Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok so i recently bought a 2000' KX125. im having a few issues with it and im not sure what direction to take. I am a mechanic by trade but am new to bikes so a little help is much aprreciated :) ok first when i start the bike (after its warmed up) and let it idle it kinda dies... i figured out how to change the idle but the problem is when the bike is in neutral OR in gear and i pull the clutch handle the bike idle drops dramatically and the bike dies. i have replaced and adjusted the clutch cable out as much as possible so the clutch is not grabbing but not sure what to do next. secondly when im riding and i go from "no throttle - full throttle" the bike acts like it wants to die very badly for about 10-15 feet then picks up and runs decent.. any ideas? thanks in advance!

anthony

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
not sucking trans.. and trans fluid was dirty but is clean now but didnt affect problem.. does not smoke excessivly.. actually im not sure if it smokes enough..

·
Registered
3,047 Posts
The bog when you pin the gas is due to improper air screw adjustment. Adjust at 1/8 turns and test until you get good throttle response. The clutch problem is kind of odd,:confused:

·
Registered
895 Posts
The only thing I could think of with the clutch would be the gear oil being to thick causing the plates to stick.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I just changed the fluid a few days ago.. maybe hasn't cleaned the clutch paks enough yet? could clutch be bad? it still grabs well.. pulls wheel of ground easy... I was told that the billet aluminum clutch basket doesn't wear and will never need replaced... is this true? thanks

·
Registered
3,047 Posts
The thing that screws me up is that the rpm's drop when you pull in the clutch even when you are in neutral, and not shifting. ????

·
Hey, lemme ride your bike
1,975 Posts