Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I'm new to everything so bare with me.

I recently sparked some interest in sport bikes. After doing some research, i found that the best one to get for me is the Kawasaki 250R.

I'm planning on buying it soon but the thing is that i don't know how to ride a bike. I know that they're manual, where's the clutch? shifter?. Is it just like driving a stick on a car?

I'm planning to buy a brand new one from the dealer which will cost $2999. Do you think it's a good idea?

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
Welcome and you are starting on the right foot by asking questions.

I strongly recommend that you take a Motorcycle Safety Course in your area.

http://msf-usa.org/

The instruction will give you the basics that you are seeking.

Good luck

·
Registered
8,245 Posts
take the MSF course and you'll be in much better shape than you are now. They go over the basics so you'll understand shifting and the clutch and all before you jump on your bike.

·
Registered
134 Posts
kroze said:
Hi everyone, I'm new to everything so bare with me.

I recently sparked some interest in sport bikes. After doing some research, i found that the best one to get for me is the Kawasaki 250R.

>>Good choice!

I'm planning on buying it soon but the thing is that i don't know how to ride a bike. I know that they're manual, where's the clutch? shifter?. Is it just like driving a stick on a car?

>> Not used like a car, you clutch with your left hand and shift with your left foot. The feel of the shifter and clutch is like a standard transmission car - so if you can drive a stick, you are that far ahead.

I'm planning to buy a brand new one from the dealer which will cost $2999. Do you think it's a good idea?
>> I would advise finding a used one, but the new Ninja 250s are actually good deals too - as mlong as the dealer doesn't mark it up above retail.