Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just turned 16 and im wanting to buy a new zx6r it will be my firts bike over 500cc and my first crochroket. ive been rideing bikes for 5 yrs starting with a 125cc honda and moving up to a 250cc yamaha and finely a 500cc yamaha but they where all curisers but ive rode my brother zx6r a couple of times and i love it. Is that a to big of bike to move up to??? or should a start out with a 500cc class bike? plz give me some advice. Thxs

·
Registered
2,159 Posts
Questions...

As you know it's a different style bike...We don't know if you are responsable enough to handle one, what your maturity level is...can you afford the bike out of your own pocket and can you afford the insurance out of yor own pocket or will you be making payments? IF you can't afford it outright, I'd stick with a used bike till you get the hang ov the bike and how they handle different and save the money up for a serious down payment. or pay-off. I think that you will find some changes coming to the 600's in the very near future...in my opinion. The ZX-10R may have Titanium Valves but so does the Suzuki GSX-600R. THere are some changes coming to the Kawasaki 500, I would expect because the bike hasn't changed in a long time and Suzuki has a full Fairing on their new 500 model. The bikes are getting lighter, and better, smarter with the aid of ECU's...and IF I wasn't in a big hurry I'd buy a used bike and read everything about what the industry is doing...the 2004 bikes are out...and we should be looking at new stuff sometime soon...at any rate it gives you time to buy one new or used or even a reposessed one...Arghhh! Save some time nd money, even insurance money and watch the market closely...you can shell out the money anytime you are ready...you may find a great 500 cheap as someone else may be making the switch up as well...

·
Registered
5,201 Posts