Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all newbie here. I have a 2000 KSF 250 Mohave and I am having a problem with the head. I bought this atv broken because being disabled I do not have the funds to buy a used running atv, now I have been an automotive engine builder for over 25 years. This is my first attempt at working on a motorcycle engine. My cam shafts need to be replaced due to the fact that they are beyond specifications. My problem is the aluminum head and caps for the cam shafts are also beyond specifications. Is there a repair for this or do I have to buy a $439.00 head and caps. I have not done any good at finding a good used head and caps. Now please forgive me but in all my years of automotive engine building have I ever come across hardened steel parts being held in place with aluminum casting, is this a designed future failure so Kawasaki can sell more parts. As I mentioned earlier this is my first motorcycle engine so I was very surprised to find this. I have already replaced the cylinder, piston, and rings and I need to know if I have to buy a new head or is there a repair for this. It just does not make sense to me why anyone would design an engine with hardened steel cam shafts only to be held in place by aluminum journals. Is it just this particular model or is all kawasaki engines this way?Any help in this matter would be greatly appreciated. Thanks Jimi

·
Registered
1,086 Posts