Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

Registered
It's a 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic!! Workn on getting it back on the road! 36,446 miles.
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My name is Don and I just wanted to say hey!! I'm hoping to see a bunch of great bikes and maybe even learn more about my own bike here!! : ) I am currently working on a 2003 Vulcan 1500 Classic!! I'm not a mechanic but I can work on a few things! Lol. My bike right now is ratchet-strapped up to an above-open rafter in my garage, while on my mc jack, of course!! Lol. The nice thing is though...I can lower and re-adjust the jack if need be and re-position the engine for when I'm ready to get it back in place and bolted back up!! I've been cleaning it up as I go, replacing little things here and there like washers, gaskets, o-rings, and other misc. parts as well, if I feel they need or should be replaced! Re-greasing and or oiling things as well! It's been sitting for the better part of 8-10 years now before I got it from my dad's estate and I'm just trying to do right by it, by getting it back to a better state and cleaned up!! Right now the rear wheel, the final-drive housing, both rear shocks, the drive shaft, the swingarm, and the bevel gear housing are all off! I've recently changed out all fluids except the oil and coolant, which I've currently got the radiator off and cleaning that all up and will be putting in Engine Ice after!! Once it's running again, I'll do the first oil change along with new oil filter media, etc, and with all new oil screen/strainer parts!! I'll also add that a friend of mine and I got it running last year (but with issues of what seemed to be the carburetor and an airline issue of some sort) which since then, I have taken out, apart, cleaned, and completely rebuilt with almost all new internal parts!! I did find metal shavings and some small unknown pieces parts, lol, in the oil, which does concern me but...I do realize once it's running again, I may need