Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I was wondering how hard and/or expensive is it to find replacement parts for "vintage" Kawas? I'm new to motorcycles, but I would like a project to work on this summer. I was thinking of searching the salvage yards for a mid-80's to 90's ninja 600.

I'm fairly mechanically inclined and I have a lot of friends more talented than me, and i'm more than willing to learn; so an engine rebuild is not out of the question.

I'm your typical poor college student, so I just want to make sure that I"m not getting in over my head money-wise. Time and labor is not really an issue.

I guess if I had to break it down, i'd have $500 for the motorcycle and maybe $1500 for parts.

Any information, maybe tips to look for when I'm at the salvage-yard, or a more common model (in the 600cc range) and especially links to companies that sell aftermarket parts, would be great!

I hope to learn a lot from this rebuild and in-turn be able to help out others on the board... just like you guys do!

Thanks,
jomiz

·
Registered
269 Posts
With $2000.00 to spend you could probably find a late '80's zx600 in decent ridable shape. My biggest problem with mine is finding parts at a decent price. The cosmetics are the hardest stuff to find like fairings, but it is worth it to me to have something different when I go around other enthusiasts. Mine diffinetly is easy to spot in a crowd of 2000 - 20004 sport bikes. Good luck on what ever ya get, and enjoy.

·
Registered
302 Posts
Why would you want to restore a ninja 600? Restore something worth the time and effort.

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
First off - Do it, it's fun putting it together, it's fun hunting down the parts, it gives you a hobby, enjoyment and a lot of new friends!