Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
591 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Regularly? I rode for about 1 year back in the '80's and I'm just getting started again. I've never done anything other than take the key with me and on the V900, lock the steering since I have that option. While looking at bike stuff I see a wide range of locks, including disc brake locks and cable locks. Do you normally lock your bike? I could see if I parked it outside my house/apartment on a regular basis (which I don't do). How about when you ride to a restaurant or to the Home Depot? Do you add extra locks? How about in an overnight trip outside a hotel? How about electronic alarms?

·
Registered
414 Posts
I never locked my bike, I think most bike thieves go after the Harleys, they are easier to sell then metric cruisers,i.e. bring more money.

·
Registered
1,138 Posts
I hardly ever lock my 01 Nomad FI. I figure it's insured is it get's stolen and oh well it's time to buy a new bike.

·
I miss you, Deron
19,783 Posts
I only lock my bike if I'm staying in a motel overnight and have to leave it in the parking lot unattended. Then I use a disk lock. Just for regular riding and stopping around town, I never lock it.

·
Registered
624 Posts
I usually do the fork lock when I'm out (restaurant, home Depot, etc) but not at home or at friends/neighbors homes. I don't own a chain. cable, brake lock or that sort of thing.

As some one mentioned, not Harley and it's insured!

·
Proud Hokie!!
564 Posts
Like the others...I lock the forks when at work during the day and if left unattended. No other locks for me.

·
Premium Member
466 Posts
YOU CAN LOCK THEM?!?!?

seriously I hardly ever lock mine, if a good thief realy wants your bike, unless it's bolted to the blacktop, it's gone. I just keep full insurance on it.

·
Premium Member
4,749 Posts