Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Fan of not being on fire
300 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yeah, it's another thread about wearing full face helmets.

I work in the private security sector, and last night I was covering our "property checks". I usually ride my bike doing this since it's a 120 mile route and we use our personal vehicles to drive the route. My bike is down at the moment, so I borrowed my brother's Harley. Well, it's Fiesta week in here San Antonio which has made things interesting on the road. I took the bike out tonight (Sunday night) thinking with tomorrow being a work day it wouldn't be as bad. I was partially right. After I was done with my checks, I stowed my duty gear in the saddle bag put on my leather jacket and a reflective belt for visibility, and hit the road. Normally while riding in town I leave my helmet open (HJC modular). Tonight I closed it in case I got swiped by a drunk. I was thinking about how good a beer sounded when a guy driving the opposite way must have read my mind. He threw a Bud Light at me. With my cat-like reflexes I caught the bottle with my face. After pulling into a gas station, I checked the bike and the helmet for damage. The impact was entirely on the face shield, which didn't even have a scratch on it. Luckily the bike was fine, because I don't have the money to fix a Harley. Either way, hooray for full face helmets, and now I will be willing to Highly recommend the HJC modular helmet. Just keep the face down when riding. :mrgreen:

·
Registered
240 Posts
Holy crap! That would've taken a lot of people out. I'd be hard pressed to not follow them and have a few choice words...

·
Cookie Monstress
454 Posts
...at least in San Antonio !!

reminds me of one Halloween when I was about 10. I was walking along a country road and some idiot threw an egg at me from a car doing 40 or so .... hit me right on the breast bone (no padding!!) and I truly thought I was gonna die.....

·