Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1984 Kawasaki ZN750a Shaft drive
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good morning,

I am a complete newbie with just basic knowledge of motorcycle mechanics. I do have good intuition and abilities.

I just picked up the bike a few weeks ago. Bought the repair manual and started teardown. The bike likely needs new pistons and rings along with just normal clean-up and replacement of worn parts, mostly old rubber like tires and trun signal posts. Other than that, it is is good condition.

Owner said that piston/ring work had been done incorrectly and needed to be corrected. I will find out more when I get there.

I am at the stage where I am trying to get the carb assembly off. Does anyone have any advise? It seems the carbs are attached to the engine with a centre post. I have all of the rings for each rubber connector loosened and am about to start removing the air box side. It seems to be the logical sequence since these are the only ones I can access to gain room to move the carb assembly around. The engin side hoses are made of stiffer rubber and don't have any give.

I look forward to hearing from anyone with experience on this fairly rare bike...

·
Super Moderator
1,428 Posts
Hi Philippek,

First off, welcome to our club of dedicated Kawasaki owners!
We have members here who own or have owned ZN's and they speak highly of them and that includes me with my recently restored 84 ZN1100.

The carbs can be difficult to install and remove due to the hardening of the rubber boots or what some call the ducts. I highly recommend softening them or buying new ones. It will make life so much easier to have soft, pliable rubber instead of rock hard rubber.