Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy, all!
I just got hooked on riding a motorcycle. I've always been an avid bicyclist and casual small dirtbike rider. When it comes to vehicles, mostly I've been focused on antique trucks and 4x4's. Never had time for a motorcycle. My brother has been riding big cruisers like Harleys and Victorys for decades. He's been trying to get me to buy a bike and I finally did. I came across a great deal on a 1983 Spectre 1100. I think. From what I can tell, it is a Spectre that has been customized. It's been repainted, engine isn't gold, and some chrome added. Maybe half LTD? The vin matches the title, but there's nothing under model.
I'm not an expert, so here is what I can tell you. It has a 4cyl, shaft drive, rear air shocks, and the correct gauges for a Spectre. The engine # is KZT10AE016872. I tried running the vin (not engine #) on the Kawasaki site and a couple others, but they didn't verify anything but the year.
I bought it from a college kid who owned it for a few months, so whoever customized it was before him. The bike is in great shape. Runs good, very clean, nice paint, and seat is new. Hard to believe it has 50,000 miles on it.
No matter what, I dig this bike. I took it out today to see what it was like. Just on some back roads, not highway. Gotta get used to something this big & heavy. I will take a riding course. After getting a feel for making it turn, I opened it up a little. It pulls good and is stable. Never got over 50. Rode for about an hour until I couldn't feel my fingers. I'm in Colorado at 5000'.
Scott
SUNP0057.JPG
SUNP0057.JPG
IMG_20210221_130536989[1].jpg

Attachments

·
Registered
191 Posts
Welcome to the forum Scott, great bike ,plenty of help here , even I'm right some of the time:whistle:

·
Super Moderator
1,623 Posts
Welcome Neo49!