Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello folks. I am new to riding and one of my friends is really pushing me to get a Harley Road King. I am 5'7" and 165 lbs. I wasn't even able to balance his HD road king even with the lowest seat, i was on my tippy toes! Then we looked at Harley Sportsters which was "ok". I saw this 98' Vulcan 800A with 27,000 miles for sale, looks like it is in perfect condition. Beautiful bike. Asking is $2,250. Obviously I need to go take a look at it but would this be a better bike to start off riding?? I'm not looking to spend a lot of money and just want to practice and ride around.

·
Registered
2,616 Posts
A Road King is far to big a Bike for a first time ride compounded by your height imho
You need your feet flat on the ground at a stand still whatever ride you get until your confidence has had time to build up.
Road Kings are great Bikes but I would be looking at the VN800 as a first Bike.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hello folks. I am new to riding and one of my friends is really pushing me to get a Harley Road King. I am 5'7" and 165 lbs. I wasn't even able to balance his HD road king even with the lowest seat, i was on my tippy toes! Then we looked at Harley Sportsters which was "ok". I see a 98' Vulcan 800A with 27,000 miles looks for sale, looks like it is in perfect condition. Beautiful bike. Asking is $2,250. Obviously I need to go take a look at it but would this be a better bike to start off riding?? I'm not looking to spend a lot of money and just want to practice and ride around.

View attachment 41918 View attachment 41919 View attachment 41920