Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey I was wondering if anyone has topped out the 250R yet and if so..... what was the top speed that you attained? I'm just a beginner but i want a bike that has some balls. I was going to get a 600cc but my dad said that it was too big of a bike(I'm only 18). So i was wondering if you people that have riden the 250 have any insight about the bike. Right now i live in Calgary Canada. This city has a lot of straight roads but im not going to buy my bike here..... I'm going to buy my bike in Ireland which is an insanely small country that has a lot of mountains.... so i was wondering if the 250 would be the best choice.

·
Registered
456 Posts
I was thinking you were a pretty good typist for being 1. Check out this topic: http://www.kawasakimotorcycle.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=905. But keep in mind that we don't condone speeding at this forum.

If you want to know if the 250R has balls, the answer is that it doesn't have as much as the 500, but it has more than you. It can get up and talk if you know how to ask it. There are very, very few riders that are limited by their bikes. Just about any bike is engineered to be a quite capable machine. The reason the bikes don't do more is because most riders (myself included) don't have the skill to really use what the bike can give. That takes years of practice and formal training. Note that I said, "and."

And as for top speed, it's 70mph. It's the same as a 500R, and the same as a 636, and the same as a 1200. That's the fastest anything can go in Minnesota, and my 250 handles it easily. I have very rarely done more than that, and the bike still has plenty of power. So what's the purpose of a bigger engine?

Is it to beat cars when the light turns green? My 250 can do that. My car is a Lexus LS400, and it can beat most cars on the road, but my 250 can beat the Lexus without even breaking a sweat.