Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm still learning how to ride, and my biggest problem to overcome is leaning around turns. Did anyone have that, or a way to help me over come it?

·
Registered
77 Posts
There are many more folks here that are more experienced than me. I've only been riding for about 6 years on and off and mostly 125s.

But you get more comfortable as time goes on. Also while you are learning leaning isn't really easy because one does go slow. With speed comes more leaning. Also just a word of advice, just be a little careful with sand, grime liquid in turns..they will get you (they have got me in the past).

My very humble 2 pennies. Get to the comfortable speed that you are to go around a corner. Make sure you are in the right gear and all your breaking is done prior to the corner. Get on constant gas, not more or less...just constant.
As you turn (say left) start turning and push the handle bar with you left hand. Also try to maintain the same arc through out the corner. Keep you body straight and look thru the corner but always keep you eyes parallel to the horizon.

Basically it's physics. Centrifugal force to be exact. At low speeds you turn the bike with you steering. At higher speeds you motorcycle pushes outward (centrifugal force). To counter this (and going straight) you lean inwards. So speed does help.

NOTE: try the same corner again and again and varying speeds. Start slow then get faster as you get comfortable & always wear all the safety gear you can gets you body into. :D
Suresh

PS. Other experienced riders will have better advice, these are just my personal experiences/observations.

·
Registered
447 Posts

·
Registered
1,803 Posts