Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since me and my buddies do some exploring, It was decided to look into handheld GPS units. I understand weatherproof is a must and that it has to be able to "plot". Meaning lock on a specific location(like camp) then semi- guide us back in all weather. There is a lot of add. software that is available. Please give any input and suggestions. Your opinion really matters for this. Looks like $250-400 + the add. software if needed. If you know of a good retailer please post. Don't need the "best" but rather the most usable on a normal basis.
I appreciate all feedback.

Eric
:idea:

·
Registered
1 Posts
Handheld GPS

Eric,
I have been using GPS frequently for about two years.

There are two basic types. Those that can display your position on a moving map and those that display your position only as dots on an empty screen. Belive it or not the low cost units with only dots are actually useful. However, those with a map are the ultimate. Of course, such mapping GPS units cost much more.

A basic "dot" type GPS costs about $130. A mapping GPS, plus map software, plus Flash memory card (for storing the map software within the GPS) adds up to about $450 to $500.