Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've never owned a motorcycle before, but recently moved to California and would love to have one out here. My budget for one isn't so much, so I've been looking for an inexpensive older bike, and have pretty much decided on a KZ750.

So my questions: what should I be looking for? Are there any common problems these bikes have? I'm a pretty competent auto mechanic, and don't mind getting a bike that needs a little work, but is there anything that would be better if I just stayed away from it?

Also, what kind of price range am I looking at? I know that varies a lot based on condition and mileage, but I'm just looking for a general guideline so I know I'm not getting suckered.

Thanks a lot for your answers!

·
This space for rent
687 Posts
KZ750 two cylinder or four cylinder? 76-79 are all twins, 80 could be either, 81 is a four, 82 and 83 could be either.

Another vote for 80-82 KZ750E four cylinder, a sweet bike that's very maneuverable and plenty enough power.

My daily rider is a 79 KZ750 twin, but my project bike is a 80 KZ750E :)

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
steell- thanks for the info about the engines- I'd seen that there were both twos and fours, but hadn't found which years were which.

I'm just looking for a fun cruising bike- I don't need a lot of power, so I'm sure a twin would be enough when it comes to that, but from what I've seen, the fours aren't exactly overpowering either.

I'd rather stay away from anything too fast- this being my first bike, I'd really like to take it slow, and learn how to ride on a bike that won't tempt me to go too fast too much. And as cheap as it is, if in a few months or a year I decide I'm ready for something a little faster, I don't really expect I'd lose much on the purchase.

And herk- that bike is beautiful. The one's I've been looking at in my price range aren't quite that well kept...

·