Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
This is my take on the MS SE..... Just depends on what your wanting. The MS has a close ratio transmission which means you have to shift alot sooner.
5th gear comes along pretty fast. Once your in 5th cruises right along with plenty of giddy-up. 70-90mph effortlessly. RPMs are abit high for a v-twin of this size, 3500-4000. IMO Mine has a pretty stiff ride, will be changing out to progressive rear shocks. Handles great at higher speeds(stable). My MS is still new with only 600 miles on it. Averaging bout 30 mpg (hope it gets alittle better). I am still learning the ins and outs of this bike. These are just my opinions , hope it helps.

·
Registered
141 Posts
No, I figured air in the shocks would make it stiffer...Am I wrong???
Also I need a Low pressure air pump with a gage...Progressive makes one that I am gonna buy....Any suggestions on the model I should get? They have 3 ranging from 30psi to 100psi...

·
Registered
455 Posts
Get the 0-60. I think the shocks with no air are setup for an average rider-150 lbs. If you weigh more than that you are probably bottoming them out when you hit any kind of bump. I rode with no air for a while, had the dealer add some at the 600 mile service, made a big difference.

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I guess the Mean Streak is mostly a "one up" motorcycle unless you buy another seat? I like the looks of the "special". Makes me wonder if one can get a good deal on a showroom leftover during the winter. What's the suggested retail price for these in Canada? Around 15thou?

·
Minimizing the Regrets!
1,684 Posts
Anyone around here owns a Mean Streak-Special and how do you like it, etc etc?