Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got a '98 500R Ninja as my first bike and I'm very pleased with it. It looks perfect and runs great. I was just wondering if there are any minor adjustments (prefereably cheap ones!) that i can make to the bike to improve performance/HP/asthetics.. anything really. I'm new to the bike world and i was just wondering what changes i should/can make to the stock model to get improvements. Thanks.

·
Registered
133 Posts
ZX-2R should pop in here in a while and tell you to take off your centerstand. :D

·
Registered
78 Posts
stage 1 air filter, about £30
stage 3 air filter, about £80
stage 1/3jet kit, about £88
Aftermarket pipes (2-1) about £300
New screen, about £40-50
Fender elimator kit, $60(ish)

·
Registered
78 Posts
how much do you loose off the top end if you do that?
i am currently getting a top top end of 128mph (thats with a 240lb me on the back thou :D)

·
Registered
78 Posts
ahh, i thought you meant that you had done this.

·
Registered
133 Posts
Cale said:
I think you will have about the same top, but at higher rpm.
Well, think about it. If the top speed is their rev limiter, then higher revs would mean that they hit the rev limiter at a slower speed....So a lowered top speed.

·
Registered
154 Posts
He's getting a top of 128mph. It's just at 10,297rpm (limiter is set about 11,200). Stock total ratio in 6th is 5.789. With 15 teeth sprocket at front total ratio will be 6.167. For the same 128mph top speed bike will hit 10,966rpm. This is just before the red zone. Theoretically you are right, but practically you are wrong.

·
Registered
133 Posts
Cale said: