Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
308 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A friend of mine has a V-Star 1100 and the dealer told him to try synthetic oil by mixing with regular oil. Would that even be of any use? He is thinking of trying 1 quart Mobil V-twin synthetic, and the rest regular oil. I am not sure if his dealer meant regular synthetic or motorcycle specific synthetic. Me I am going to go straight to synthetic at my next oil change around 3500 miles.

·
Official BTK Forum Pot Stirrer
37,387 Posts
at my last change I switched to a synthetic blend, but it was blended in the bottle from the manufacturer and not in the oil tank

·
Registered
458 Posts
I'm no oil expert, but that sounds pretty self defeating. If he wants the benefits of synthetic he should switch completely. I doubt that it would damage anything, but why risk it for a few bucks? Certainly won;t get the benefits with all that regular stuff running around in there.

If you change regular oil often that will work fine. Sythetic has advantages at start up and for high temperatures. Some say it helps your gas mileage. I plan to switch to synthetic when I hit 5-6k, as I did in my previous bike.

If he is trying to save money in the short term stick with regular oil all the way. I plan to keep my bike for awhile so am making the switch for the long term savings.

I never understood folks that spend thousands of dollars on a motorcycle and try to save a few pennies on oil, oil filters and gas. Get the best and your bike will last longer. IMHO 8) :wink:

·
Registered
308 Posts
Discussion Starter #4