Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was just wondering what you have to do to earn your motorcycle license. Im 16 and have been wondering about getting a motorcycle for awhile now. Like what are all the steps included in working your way to riding a motocycle. If you can explain these things to me that would be great, and remember im a total noob here so forgive me if im not so sure on what all your talkin about. Thanks.

·
Registered
380 Posts
Welcome!

I'm pretty much a n00b too... but I've gone thru most of the steps thus far...
-decided bike I want to ride
-purchased gear
-take MSF (motorcycle safety federation) class
-go to DMV and get endorsement on license

I'm sure wiser and more experienced ones will chime in...

·
Registered
4,352 Posts
re

that's pretty much the steps to take :wink:
if you have never riden at all you might consider taking a spin on a dirt or enduro bike
off road just to get a feel for how a bike handles and to get familiar with the controls

good luck!! :wink:

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have riden my cousins ATVs about 5-6 times and have felt pretty good with that but im not sure how much of a comparison that is to a motorcycle.

·
Registered
209 Posts
welcome. there's a big difference between a quad and a motorcycle. I'd advise a dirt bike too, if you have somewhere to ride it. If not, take the MSF course first, then that'll help you see what size of bike to get.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Ohio. I think i read that passing the MSF course is required to get your license if you are under 18

·
Road Snot Needs A Kleenex
364 Posts