Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know a thing or two about electrical stuff. I have a degree in Electronics and I am in the computer field. Naturally, I like tinkering with low voltage stuff.

We just picked our used Mule up last week and, as I said in another post, the wiring has issues. This Mule supposedly was a Park Service vehicle and has a small toggle switch with pilot light on the right side of the dash. Naturally, since whatever it was connected to is no longer there, turning the switch on does nothing. The odd thing about this, though, is that the pilot light only comes on under acceleration. It isn't controlled by the switch and it isn't controlled by having the ignition in the "on" position.

If you accelerate, the light is lit--if you let off and coast, it goes out.

Does anyone have any ideas what this switch might have been for? Does anyone know which circuit would only apply 12V to the light when accelerating? (I assume the alternator/charging circuit but it would still charge at idle.)

As I said, I know about electrical things to a point, but I don't have a clue about this Mule's electrical system.

Thanks for your help!

Otis

·
Registered
31 Posts
Can you tell the color of the wires feeding the pilot light are? When you check this you need to follow them to the main harness to make sure of thier color. They may have been spliced to the harness. If you have a manual you can then possibly see where they are getting their signal from. Also it would probably help you to check what voltage is present when you get the light. You may find out that it is there all the time when checked to ground and that a ground is being supplied only when you accelerate. At any rate I suspect that it is something to do with a signal from you ignitor or speed sensor in the speedometer.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply.