Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking to purchase my first new bike. I have zero experience with motorcycles and am 6 feet tall and 260 lbs. I like the looks and price of the 04 vulcan 800 classic and was wondering if this bike is big enough for me. I won't be doing any two up riding and was wondering if this has enough power and size for my heigh/weight or should I move up to the 1500 or 1600 classic. I just don't want to get a bike thats too big for my experience or one that is too small for my size. Thanks!!

·
Registered
4,352 Posts
re

welcome ramblinwreck :wink:

the 800 is quite capapble of pulling you around and would make a great starter bike
for your first ride-very nimble machine,and comfortable also.you can find used ones
pretty easy for a good price,bestt thing to do is sit on a few bikes and check the seat
position and see what feels good.

good luck and ride safe

·
Registered
837 Posts
:D welcome to the forum ramblinwreck.the 800 will suit you just fine but the 1500 or 1600 will carry you better.you will get used to either bike quick and will want more power the more you drive it.im glad i chose the 1500 but will upgrade next year to the big meanie :D

·
Registered
27 Posts
800 classic

ramblinwreck. I'm a big guy kike you and I find the 800 has all the power I need. The 1500 means you never need to shift in town. 2nd gear will do it all for you. I guess if I had it to do over I would get the 1500. But I am very happy on top my 800. mexico drifter

·
Registered
41 Posts
Need help with decision!!!

Ramblinwreck, I highly recommend starting with the 800 - it is plenty powerful and will keep you out of a lot of trouble that you might get into with a heavier, more powerful bike. For more help with a decision like this, check out www.beginnerbikes.com - it is the ultimate website for information for new (or returning) riders.