Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello.

I'm a newbie to this forum because I did not own a Kawasaki until yesterday. :D I traded for a 2001 Vulcan Classic (VN800B). The bike has been neglected for a few years. It sat outside in the elements covered by a tarp. The bike was caked in mold and mildew but after a few hours of cleaning, it is starting to look like something that I could ride.

When I picked up the bike, it would only run if the previous owner held the plug wire. But I was able to see that the issue was with the wire or plug. I have sinse found that the problem was that the boot was unscrewed from the plug wire. Both plug wires were very loose so I'm not sure how it was running at all. Anyway, I have that fixed. While I had the tank pulled, I went ahead and removed the EPA crap. I did not have any marbles, but I found that .45 ACP casings work just as well. ;)

I'm going to change the oil, oil filter, air filter and replace the coolant. My first question is what types of oil do the Kawasaki's like? I have always ran Mobile 1 Gold cap in my Honda's. Is that sufficient or is there a better alternative? Is there a Purolator PureOne oil filter that will replace the stock Kawasaki filter? What about the air filter? Is there an automotive equivilant? and lastly, can I replace the antifreeze with Dexcool?

Now for the technical side... The bike will not not idle without the choke being pulled out partly. When twisting the throttle, the bike wants to backfire. The bike has the stock exhaust but the previous owner has the canisters cut out. It was running well before the previous owner parked it (or so he says). The bike has 15K on it and I have no idea if the valves have been adjusted or not and I do not think that the previous owner rejetted it. I can put the tank back on and post a video if that would be beneficial.