Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey people i just bought my first new bike its a 2008 honda cbr 600 it due for its first oil change and the dealer wants to charge me between $265-425 dollars is this something i really need to have a dealer do or can i just do the oil change on my own? plese help dont have the $ but i need to come up with it i will any help would be great

·
Registered
445 Posts
I'm no pro or anything... But I'd say do it yourself. I never did an oil change in my life and I managed on my bike with no troubles. Check youtube out for an instructional video on how to do it.

·
Registered
1,512 Posts
Uhhh... are you sure that they aren't charging you 265-425 dollars for your first scheduled service? This probably includes a valve adjustment among other things.

Because I'd pay it and get it done. An oil change should be under 50 bucks, oil included. If you can't afford 300 bucks for scheduled maintenance you made the wrong choice buying a new supersport. $$$$$$$$$$$.

LOL Wait till you need new tires!

·
Registered
231 Posts
Wow this is your call, If this is the first service it is probably best done by the dealer.
You will need to invest in a good set of hand tools plus a few speciality tools.
And have just a little bit of mechanical abiltys.This is sometimes lacking at a lot of dearlerships.
Also most warrentys require that who ever does the work have some degree of proven mech abilty to keep the warrenty. I have worked on bikes for a living for a long time now, plus I have taught at mmi and just because you go to mmi does not make you a mechanic.
Their are quite a few Students their just because they have to be somewhere. And thier system require student retention at all costs.
They are bad students and bad mechanics.
Joe Kawasaki

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
first oil change