Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 131 Posts

·
Novice Tank Roller
15,810 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
You may or may not have heard that a new NC law started as of 1/1/08. The law requires MC helmets to be DOT-approved. I'm not an expert on the law, nor trying to start a debate on it.

What bugs me is that a co-worker arrived at work today and knowing that I am a motorcycle rider, her first comment to me after saying happy new year, is asking if I heard that "Nazi-style helmets are now banned in NC".

Of course, I politely explained the issue of "novelty" helmets no longer being able to be worn because of a loop-hole in the law. I asked her where she had heard it....on the local news station this morning. Geez...is that all they can come up with...Nazi style???

I've tried searching the net for any mention of it from the local media, especially with any reference to Nazi style. Nothing.

·
Registered
289 Posts
Might want to show her these "Nazi" DOT helmets. They are legal here. Local news I have seen seems to be well informed on what constitutes a novelty helmet. They came across as informative on the new law and how it would affect riders. Mainly that you can be stopped for a helmet check, no other reason needed.

Dan

·
Vintage bike addict
4,812 Posts
It doesn't matter the style. You can look like Darth Vader if the helmet is DOT approved. Just a question of taste and manufacturing style.

·
Registered
237 Posts
I think that is fked up that a cop can pull you over just for a helmet check. Also i saw a picture of someone selling their motorcycle near where i live ok. And it was a red lisence plate (totally werid for our area) and in big white letters under the plate id, it says Under 21.. is it just me or is that age discrimination. I mean i will always leave my house with a helmet, no matter what. but i beleive in our right as americans to choose if you want to wear a helmet or not and if you want it to be a novelty helmet or not.

·
Registered