Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone. I'm a new rider with some questions about which bike I should get... I know you probably read that all the time, but hopefully I can put a new spin on it. I'm 24 years old, 6'3", 180lbs. I've taken the MSF class and have a license, but outside of the MSF course I have very little experience riding. I have invested in some gear though, so don't worry about that.

I guess I will tell you what I want out of a bike, and you can tell me which of these I should get.

I'm not a speed freak (yet, I guess :D ) and realize that my skills as a rider are not up to handling a big bike. I don't want to start in the 600 class. I want something with some level of performance of course, but I don't need anything crazy. I would mostly be city riding with some short stretches on local highways (65 mph)

The main things I want out of a bike are, in order of importance:
-appropriate for my skill level.
-big enough for me, being a taller rider
-reasonable performance

I'm looking at buying used, since I'm sure whatever I get will end up horozontal on the pavement at least once.

I know these are both appropriate for my skill, but will the 250 be big enough for me? How could one describe its performance, in terms of a normal car on the road?

Thanks - hope to be riding soon 8)

·
Registered
8,245 Posts
the 250 is faster than most cars out there, but its power range starts at about 9K through 13K, have to keep it revved up to get it to move. The 500 has about 6K-9500 power range, and it sits a little taller. I started on the ex500, bought my '01 with 3K miles on it for 3K. There should be plenty around and that bike will keep you happy for quite some time.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Hey man!

I just got a 2000 ninja 500r and I have ridden it about four times. I was just like you, MSF class, liscence and awsome gear but no bike for a couple of months...