Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey im new to these forums whats up everyone :D

i got a question, i just got my motorcycle permit and am trying to get in a msf class as soon as i can and have decided on 2 bikes for me to get. one is a 2004 Suzuki VStrom 650 and the other is a 2005 Kawasak Vulcan 500 LTD. i have no past motorcycel experience but am a very quick learner and have a lot of skill in these types of things... I dont think either one would be too powerful i just need some help on why i should or shouldnt get the Vulcan, since at my dealer it is about 1000 cheaper... thxi

·
Registered
1,563 Posts
Hi, VStrom, and welcome to the forum. I take it from your name that you are leaning toward the Suzuki. :) I've only owned one Suzi and it was a fine machine. But I prefer Kawasaki nowadays. I would definetily suggest you check the reviews on these two bikes in the cycle magazines, most are available online. Just google on "(manufacturer bike name) review".

·
Official BTK Forum Pot Stirrer
37,387 Posts
yes, welcome to the board. I think by asking the question here your mostly going to get a biased reply. Most of us here ride Kawa's out of choice and so.....I say go Vulcan... ha ha :lol:

·
Registered
244 Posts
Strom, you might consider something a bit bigger. Everyone I know who's gone with 650cc or smaller for their first bike wants a bit more power once they get comfortable. It's just wound out at highway speeds. My 800 is the same, but that's stock and there's pipes and an air filter/jets in my future. Good luck. Love my Kaw.

·
Official BTK Forum Pot Stirrer
37,387 Posts
pockets, a nice young lady working at a coffee stand in the lobby of the Lloyd tower in Portland once told me that Eugene is the hippy capital of the world, is that true?

·
Registered
7 Posts
3 things

Sorry if I am telling you stuff you already know.