Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just bought a 97 vulcan 1500L to work on over the summer. Haven't been on a bike in a few years...like 10, but have had the itch and came across this one for 600$. I don't mind putting the work in but I'm not a mechanic by any means. Guy said he "dropped" it and it wouldn't go into 1st gear anymore so he parked it where it sat for 4 years until I bought it. Cleaning the tank and carb then getting a new battery so I can hear it run but if you guys have an thought I'd love to hear it. Will post pictures as I work on it if needed.

·
Registered
224 Posts
Welcome to the forum, maybe previous owner has bent the gear change or pushrod which side was it dropped on?

·
Super Moderator
1,906 Posts
Welcome Rwatson,

Do you have a service manual? I think it will prove invaluable to obtain one. Hopefully Ropp is correct and it is just something bent or in need of adjustment. The clip below is from a similar Vulcan and gives you an idea of how useful a manual can be. Caution tho, this measurement may or may not apply to your specific Vulcan model.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I ordered a Clymer manual the day I get her home, should be here in a couple days. Honestly I'm not sure which side he dropped it on, he said it wasn't while riding it, I guess I just assumed he meant on the shifter side. Also thank you guys for replying so quickly.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Still waiting on that manual from California. Do you guys know which carb came on this bad boy? Should I buy a new one or just clean the old one?

·
Registered
224 Posts
Looks good really , bit dusty but looking past that should clean up nicely , are you sure its a 1500L and 1997?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #7