Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys , My name is Matt , I am a 17 year old student. I am a junior in high school , and I am looking at getting a ninja. I am going to start out with a 250cc for sure , but I wanted to check up and get an added opinion. I still need to take the test to let me drive a bike , but I am planning ahead. :) I dont want anything more then a 250 until I am good on the 250. I will only use it to get to and fro school/work/friends houses/family ect. I do not plan on taking it on the freeways and I am not trying to go fast , yet :p . I also know I need to set aside money for protective gear. I was told I need to invest into a helmet(duh) , gloves , a jacket of some sort , and pants. Someone also mentioned boots , but I dont wanna end up wearing boots to school , so anyone know an alternitive to that? any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for the imput guys.

·
Registered
169 Posts
:grin: well for starts, i just wear my regualr shoes when i ride my bikes.... ninja250 is a nice start at becomin a good rider....

·
Registered
8,245 Posts
A lot of people wear regular tennis shoes and stuff like that on their bikes. This gives you NO ankle protection. Over the ankle boots are what you are looking for. Doc martins, and similar boots will usually give you enough protection. I know of no other alternatives to actually wearing boots.

·
Registered
3,034 Posts
woot! Another 17 year old :) If the 250 is anything like my 500R, then you should like it. My 500 is great for commuting to and from school/work, as you can get out of the school parking lot before most people are there :p As for a jacket, just make sure it has armour in it. And combat boots look good and give decent protection, so do the AlpineStar GPS3s.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
JTpaintball70 said: