Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey, i'm new to bikes, and i'm taking my MSF course in 3 weeks..

they require me to bring my own
-jacket
-helmet
-gloves
-boots

i was wondering, where are some cheap places online to purchase these items..my cousin told me to go to my local bike shop and try out the sizes so i know what to get..and i'm gonna do that in the next week..but i just wanted some cheap places to get some gear..

i dont wanna spend too much considering this is my going to be my first time riding a motorcycle.

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
Others will chime in with some great places, but I have seen last years Arai helmets on ebay for $200.

Make sure your boots that you do get are over the ankle.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
yep, they require to be over the ankle..

and what are some best brands for the items in each catagory? i heard shoei are excellent for helmets..

·
Registered
99 Posts
Shoei make very comfortable and light helmets, but dont expect to get them cheap! I suggest Scorpion if you can find anyone who sells them. They are comparable to Shoei in comfort and very cheap! Also, both versions of their helmets are Dot and Snell certified!

Jacket - my MSF course just required long sleeves....make sure you check up on that before you commit yourself to too much $$ on gear that you may not use (some people just dont like jackets)

Boots - walmart. Nuff said. Dont get racing boots or any of that junk right now. Any regular $20 boots will work fine for the over the ankle protection.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
DrX512 said:
Shoei make very comfortable and light helmets, but dont expect to get them cheap! I suggest Scorpion if you can find anyone who sells them. They are comparable to Shoei in comfort and very cheap! Also, both versions of their helmets are Dot and Snell certified!