Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding my 900 custom since January. I now have over 8000 miles on this sweet ride. Recently began developing a relationship with a woman and would like to see if she could enjoy riding along with me.

Given that I am a newbie riding a 900 custom, what would you recommend I do as I attempt to ride with someone else? I thought about starting off in a large parking lot, but I wonder about gear for her. What if she doesn't like it? I figure I shoudn't invest until I'm sure she's going to enjoy it.

And what about the ride? I've been a passenger before and was told to move with them, don't put your feet down until told to do so, etc... And what about the seat on the custom ? Do I have to have a new one and a sissy bar, or can I go ahead and introduce her to riding with my current set up?

Can you see my line of thinking? What pointers/guidance do you have for this newbie?

·
98' 1500 Classic
978 Posts
I think if you've already logged 8k mi you're more than ready to have her just jump on the back and go for a ride. Take an easy route untill you get the feel of having somebody on the back. I tell all my passingers to just sit still and dont wiggle. i tell them when to get on and when to get off, so I'm ready for it. thats all i tell them. as far as gear, come on, good pair of jeans, boots, helmet (if you wear them), and a jackett. figure out the rest later. as far as equipping the bike, I would recommend a backrest. more than one newby pass has fallen off the back. i don't think its any big deal, just take her for a ride.

do yo have a classic or custom? you stated both in the post.

·
Missy Peregrym's #1 fan!
7,792 Posts
you may have to get use to stopping as well at first... takes a little more squeeze if you plan on stopping like normal (which i dont recommend) i find myself slowing down much more in advance

·
Registered
588 Posts