Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all... I am extremely new to motorcycles, have never even ridden one, but I now want to learn how. I know about all of the safety courses and gear neccesary when beginning to ride...and I am going to ease into riding, because I a m a very safety concious person and don't wanna be a statistic. Enough of that though...I am a tall, slim guy 6'5" 190lbs, and want a bike to commute on the highway to school and do some riding around town. the trip to school is 45 miles all open road with very little traffic if any. Here's the question am I too big/tall for a 250? I'm not worried about speed, because I like to baby my vehicles and don't push them hard at all, I just want a bike that will be safe, dependable and inexpensive to maintain and operate. Will I be too big for a 250 and will it suit my needs. thanks for the advice in advance

·
Registered
8,245 Posts
You are probably too tall for a 250, but you should go and sit on one to see if you can fit. More than likely you should look for a suzuki katana 600, they are heavier bikes, but they fit people as tall as you and even taller in most cases.

·
Registered
380 Posts
He's not too tall... I'm 6'5 and I ride a 250 comfortably...

I can't crouch in a race position comfortably, but you shouldn't be doing that as a n00b anyways...

But naturally we can only give you advice and you will take your own actions.

The power to weight ratio is not a concern either... I weigh about 250... and it totes me around just fine. Unless you really need to go REALLY fast and have trouble controlling the bike (not recommended) I would buy the 250.

·
Registered
8,245 Posts
I'm 6'2" and I'm almost too tall for my bike, but I guess it depends on how long your legs are. I also tuck frequently when I ride, more so because I'm usually railing a bit.

glad to know somebody that tall can ride a 250

·
Registered
380 Posts
Freakinout said: