Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, just bought my first bike, an '02 Ninja ex250 streetfighter with 10k miles, and i figured I would join the forum to learn more about the bike.

Little background on me; I'm a student Ferris State University (Michigan) and majoring in Automotive Engineering Technology. I'm a newb to bikes (never even really rode bicycles when i was growing up, and the only other bike I've ridden is my buddy's Honda xr80 dirt bike, haha). I have mechanical background, however, this is the first carb'd vehicle i have owned, lol.

The bike is a little rough around the edges, which is fine by me since i'm learning to ride on this bike (and it has already taken 2 driveway tip-overs :cry: ). As you can see in the pics; it has a different headlight (no idea if it is aftermarket, or off a different bike, haha), no front plastic, no gauges, the tank is pretty beat and leaks a little from the side, and the mufflers are pretty dented up.

I just ordered the headlight/gauge cluster/fairing bracket, and i'm going to buy a instrument cluster so i can rig up the gauges. Anybody have some helpful hints on how the bracket attaches (to the frame?) and if/what needs to be cut? (since i'm not going to be using the stock headlight or putting the fairings back on)

After I feel more confident with riding it (and confident that i won't drop it, lol) i plan on getting a new tank (or bondoing up the one i have now), getting new mufflers (any links to a nice single exit for these bikes?), remove the under-tail plastic stuff, and repaint the bike (probably just flat black, but i'm not sure yet)

here are the other toys; my dad's '01 S2000 and my turbo '94 del Sol

·
Spinach Eating Moderator
22,962 Posts
Welcome. Lots of EX250 riders here (sold mine last year), you'll have a great time getting to know everyone. :D

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·